SG welcomes new CARICOM Chairman


CARICOM Secretary-General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque meeting new CARICOM Chairman, Prime Minister Dean Barrow of Belize in Belize City. The CARICOM Chairmanship is rotated among Heads of Government on a six-month schedule.

Prime Minister Dean Barrow assumed the CARICOM Chairmanship on January 1, 2016, taking over from the Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart whose six-month tenure ended on December 31, 2015.

Belize is scheduled to hold the 27th Inter-sessional Meeting of CARICOM Heads of Government in February.